Posted in Hi from Heaven

What can we do when we feel powerless?

“I wonder what I will wear tomorrow…”

That’s my most immediate worry. It is as mundane as that.

There was a time, not too long ago, when the folks in Aleppo also had the luxury of such mundane worries. But now, it doesn’t really matter what they will wear tomorrow.

Because there is no assurance they will be alive to see sunrise tomorrow.

Humanity id dying off gradually. And we sit in our warm homes; around our loving families, worrying about whether it will snow on Christmas day.

Or what shoes to wear to the club.

 

The Bab al-Nasr district of Aleppo's Old City was once renowned for its bustling souks, grand citadel and historic gates. Aleppo's Old City has been rendered virtually unrecognisable by some of the worst violence of Syria's war. Picture: AFP/George Ourafalian.

I honestly don’t care how this civil war started. And I don’t care how they must have asked for it. All I know is that no one, no human, should have to suffer like this. There are some people that have the power to make policies that will change the lives of these people. There are also some people who have the financial power to give humanitarian aid to them. But for us that have neither political nor financial power, what can we do?

We don’t have to grit our teeth in frustration. We can pray.

 “And we are confident that he hears us whenever we ask for anything that pleases him.” 1 John 1: 14 NLT.

I know it pleases God that people live in peace; and I know it pleases God that humanity stops with the genocide.

So for us powerless ones, let’s turn to God in prayer. Please, pray for Aleppo everyday. Be moved in your heart to desire a change.

Photo credit: AFP/George Ourafalian.

Author:

So, this is a girl that wakes up every morning wondering 'How can I make my lil corner of the universe a bit more beautiful?' And I believe that is by spreading a little bit of kindness everyday. I love God to bits majorly because He loved me first. Drama has a way of finding me...or I find it...I'm not sure anymore these days. Mostly, even I don't know much about me, I'm still on that path of self-discovery but one thing I have found out so far is that no matter how many dragons breathe fire her way, this Rockstar is totally slaying them. Family is first, no contest! You have an idea on how to spread some kindness or something you want us to talk about, hit me nicely at gatlin_may@yahoo.com And thanks for stopping by!

Drop your take