Posted in Uncategorized

What’s normal?

Aphrodite, (a Greek myth) is believed to be the goddess of love, beauty, pleasure and procreation. She was the epitome of beauty, perfect neck, perfect hair, perfect belly, perfect everything; gods fought over her, not rich-bugatti driving-rolex wearing-accent speaking boys o; gods!

I read somewhere that the person that made the Aphrodite painting got various women to be his muses, got someone to be the arm, another to be the neck, another to be the legs etc. He took different parts of women and built them into one woman. One perfect woman. The ideal.

I read recently about the concept of understanding the normal body and the disabled body. Bear in mind, the disabled body is a continuum, from ugly face to no legs to discolored skin. The article I read gives an awesome description of what it means to have a perfect body, an ideal body. And there is also that pressure to aspire to this ideal, to be a part of or live within the ideal, to be an Aphrodite. Someone is always pointing out that blackhead that has chosen to rent a space on your cheekbone or casually mentioning how you have gained weight.

“If only I can just lose weight to be your size”, said an old classmate of mine who was about size 18. I looked at her in shock because incidentally, around that time I was struggling with my size 12 medium-orobo weight and desperate to be like my size-nothing sisters. Throughout that day, I walked on clouds. Shey somebori aspires to be like me, I have made it!

Reading that article reminded me of that incident. It got me thinking about how dissatisfied we humans constantly are. There is always a better to aspire for, a prettier face, a slimmer body. Cosmetics company, gyms, food companies etc. have built conglomerates off us. And now social media is getting wealthy off our desperation. So even if the body is completely fine, we will still find a flaw that must be fixed. We will find that stretch mark, that pimple, that wrinkle, that love-handle. It is like we live in a constant fear of not conforming. But conform to what? Or to who? Image result for unreal beauty images

It is the same with disabled bodies, it will always be considered unsatisfactory, not because of health limitations, but simply because we consider it not pretty to look at.

Just as there is not Aphrodite, there is no perfect beauty and no perfect body. Love yourself and stop stressing over what doesn’t exist. Those women on posters and magazines don’t look like that. They are mere mortals like us. When God made us, He declared us ‘perfect!’ That is what counts, we are all different but differently perfect. And know that no matter how much you try, someone will always find a fault with you anyways. So love your size 18 and stop taking dangerous drugs. Stop exposing your skin to chemicals and free your mind of worries that do not exist. Add peace of mind and confidence to your morning routine and you will see the beauty radiate out of you.

 

Author:

So, this is a girl that wakes up every morning wondering 'How can I make my lil corner of the universe a bit more beautiful?' And I believe that is by spreading a little bit of kindness everyday. I love God to bits majorly because He loved me first. Drama has a way of finding me...or I find it...I'm not sure anymore these days. Mostly, even I don't know much about me, I'm still on that path of self-discovery but one thing I have found out so far is that no matter how many dragons breathe fire her way, this Rockstar is totally slaying them. Family is first, no contest! You have an idea on how to spread some kindness or something you want us to talk about, hit me nicely at gatlin_may@yahoo.com And thanks for stopping by!

11 thoughts on “What’s normal?

  1. Ahhh…would you believe I was considering a semi permanent eye lashes? The vain side of me!!!!

    To be realistic, I think we should all be informed on health matters. Check your BMI; it does not lie and it is black and white. If under/over weight, do something about it. If normal, maintain it and stay active. We should get overweight and remain in that state while claiming confidence – that is utter rubbish!

    Like

    1. Paying attention to one’s health is definitely realistic. But this post actually isn’t for those not trying at all, it is for those ‘trying too hard’, allowing themselves to get caught up in the negative connotations surrounding lack of perfection in one’s body. It is simply about loving our skin/body just the way God made it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed reading this! i love it when we are just normal about imperfections. I am size 18 and I constantly talk about how much I need to lose weight. Sometimes I actually do something about it though. But most times i just try to enjoy life and the little extra cushion.

    Like

    1. I love your frankness and enthusiasm. I also try to do the whole work out-eat right thing and sometimes I simply forget to relax and just enjoy my days. Thanks for the reminder about the extra cushion, lol.

      Liked by 1 person

Drop your take

